Super eight! – RJR names stars for top sports awards

first_imgJust eight names were announced yesterday as nominees for the RJR Sports Foundation’s National Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards set for January 13, 2017. However, chairman of the selection committee Mike Fennell pointed to the committee’s “strict criteria” for the small number of nominees this year even as chairman of the Foundation Gary Allen, highlighted the event’s remarkable growth over the years. Triple Olympic gold medallist Usain Bolt heads the list of three male nominees compared to last year’s five, while Rio sprint double champion Elaine Thompson topped the list of six female nominees. There were eight in 2015. “This is what the performances indicate, and based on that, we are not lowering the bar to go to other events because it starts at the world level,” said Fennell at yesterday’s launch at, he Jamaica Pegasus. “The year was dominated by the Olympic Games for individual performances. There are other performances where people were a part of relay teams, and so those people will get special awards.” Fennell added: “It will be good if we had more in many other sports. It would be ideal, of course, if we had half a dozen different sports on the nomination list, but we have ways to go with those other sports in getting to the world level.” The other male nominees are Olympic 110m hurdles champion Omar McLeod and West Indies cricketer Marlon Samuels. The remaining female nominees are track stars Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and Shericka Jackson, swimmer Alia Atkinson, and female cricketer Stafanie Taylor. The cut-off date for possible additions is December 31. Allen noted that the committee has to look at ways to increase the accommodation for the awards ceremony because of the huge demands. “We now have an event were the demand is outstripping our ability to accommodate people here at The Pegasus,” Allen said. Last year, he said more than 500 people were in attendance and some were even turned back. “We don’t want to do that, and so for the last couple of years, we have been looking around and saying, is there a way we can influence potential venues to step up to another level in terms of us being able to expand the numbers,” Allen said, noting that many of those with interest in the ceremony are key players in sports in Jamaica. The Victoria Mutual Building Society (VMBS) Youth Award will be a new addition to this year’s award ceremony. This award will focus on athletes considered to be not only new talent, but also those who are not professional, meaning they do not earn a living from their sporting discipline. Each nominee must be under 21 years old. According to Vivienne Bayley-Hay, director of marketing and corporate affairs at VMBS, the award is going to recognise Jamaica’s “next Usain Bolt or Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce”. “We think the winner can come from any sport. One of the things that was tremendous in the Rio Olympics is the fact that we have expanded the sporting disciplines that Jamaica was represented in.” “I think that with the talent we have in this country, if we continue to support and to recognise them, I have no doubt that Jamaica will excel in all disciplines. No nominees for the award have been named as yet. Bayley-Hay said the nominees will be selected closer towards the end of the year. Bahamian Olympian Pauline Davis-Thompson would be the guest speaker at this year’s awards ceremony. Other awards include the Chairman’s award, the People’s Choice award, and the Lifetime Achievement award. The nominees for the People’s Choice awards are Atkinson’s 50m short-course breaststroke world record swim; Calabar’s 4x400m Open relay win at Boys and Girls Championships; Michael Binns’ 35-yard goal in the Premier League; Elaine Thompson’s 200m run in Rio, and Yona Knight-Wisdom’s series of dives at the Olympics. (Sportsman of the Year) Usain Bolt Omar McLeod Marlon Samuels (Sportswoman of the Year) Alia Atkinson Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce Elaine Thompson Shericka Jackson Stafanie Taylor NOMINEES:last_img read more

Flyers drop first game of NPHL West Division Final to Rangers

first_imgFORT ST. JOHN, B.C. — The Fort St. John Flyers didn’t get the start they were hoping for in the first game of the second round of the NPHL playoffs last night.Taking on the Spirit River Rangers at the North Peace Arena, it was the Rangers that were all over the Flyers from the start of the first period. The Rangers got things started just 3:50 into the game, putting the puck past netminder Travis McLean. In the next eight minutes, the Rangers would score three more, chasing McLean from net as they took a 4-0 lead. Backup Troy Hunt went in between the pipes, but the Rangers took a 5-0 lead just a minute and a half later. The Flyers would finally get on the board with 1:44 left in the stanza. Brady Busche scored on the power play assisted by Jeff Shipton, but the Flyers trailed 5-1 after twenty minutes. Shots on net in the first were 15-12 in favour of Spirit River.Both teams had some solid net minding at both ends in the second period, with both teams bringing their defensive ‘A’ games. Shots on net were 10-6 for the Flyers in the second, with Fort St. John going 0-for-2 on the power play.- Advertisement -The Flyers came out with a spark in the third, As Adam Horst cut the Rangers’ lead to 5-2 just 1:11 into the frame, assisted by Rick Cleaver. Close to the midway mark of the stanza, it was the Rangers that answered back with a pair of goals to make it 7-2. Arlo Hadland brought the Flyers once again to within four points, scoring just before the eleven minute mark on the power play assisted by Jeff Fast and Ryan Carter. However, the Rangers got another power play goal of their own in the final four minutes, killing any chance of a comeback by Fort St. John. Final score was 8-3.The Flyers are back in action on Saturday night, when they head to Spirit River for Game 2 of the series. Puck drops at 8:30.last_img read more